The Art of Riva Leviten


Please Sign Riva’s Guestbook
January 28, 2009, 7:16 PM
Filed under: 1

We hope you enjoyed visiting Riva’s website. Please post your thoughts, comments and messages for Riva here, in her online guestbook.


31 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The art is as beautiful as the woman herself. Priscilla, you have created a marvelous tribute to your mom…and a gift to all of us.

Comment by Perry

What a remarkable compilation of artwork, love and whimsy! A heroic and successful effort; thank you.

Comment by Rebecca Mayer

Priscilla I am totally in awe of Riva, her artwork, and you for creating this amazing site! She is a amazing and so are you!

Comment by amy putman

P – This is a miracle. I can’t get enough of it. I miss the old Riva but she lives on in this piece. Love you and love Riva.

Comment by Linda

I love getting to know Riva. what a marvelous tribute from one extraordinary woman to her mother.

Comment by anne

Wow,
There’s so much here! …and Riva is still teaching. We met quite a while ago
in Provincetown at the Fine Arts Work Center and became fast friends.
Riva became something of an art mentor for me but I think she gleaned
some of what I was trying to do as well. I visited her at home often for awhile
and loved the playfulness of the place…it was her soul beared for all to
see. I was there during some of her first health crises and tried to get
her connected with the proper help but in my spending more time in
Provincetown, we got disconnected!
I’d stop in or call from time to time and, regretfully, lost contact.
Riva had a tremendous effect on my art and development and
I think, in the end, she’d be proud of me. I dedicated my show “Seasons
in the Sand” to her and she urged me NOT to sell one of the paintings. Awhile
later, I put it in an auction in Ptown and it finally became part of the
Fine Arts Work Center permanent collection! Riva called and asked me “how
it felt” ….. I was stunned, but she knew how to follow her bliss and her
spirit. I hope I can do half as well before the final curtain. God bless Riva!
Brian Larkin

Comment by brian

Riva will be so proud when she sees this, Pris. To quote Riva on Channing Gray’s reaction to one of her shows:

“All I have to say is: ‘Wow.’ ”

Love ya.

Comment by Peter

Priscilla:
What a lovely tribute! So creative and full of love. You are 2 remarkable women. From another Priscilla!

Comment by priscilla

What a fascinating woman and artist your mother is! This website is beautifully imagined and created — artistic, thoughtful, heartfelt and heartbreaking too. The poignant video tribute to Riva had me in tears. I wish I could offer up such a gift to my mother. There are often so many things unsaid…it’s moving to see what you have done here. Thank you.

Comment by megan

priscilla-you have managed to wrestle the essence of your mother’s quixotic soul from the grip of her illness and preserved it for her, and for you, and for others. She would love this. It’s quite amazing. she was unique.

Comment by jennifer

I enjoyed viewing Riva’s art. It is a tour de force of a brilliant contemporary artist with a strong and passionate message that will inspire artists and non-artists, politicians and arm-chair pundits, social activists and philanthropists. My favorite work continues to be the “glam” photo of Priscilla and Riva.

Comment by Mark

A thoughtful and loving tribute from one artist to another. The inspired work of Riva lives on in the creative output of her daughter. Now the world can continue to be moved by Riva’s work and admire its beauty, its message, and its call to social action.

Comment by MS

Priscilla,
This is extraordinary and I am so impressed with what you have done — and who you are.
With admiration and love,
Arlyn

Comment by Arlyn Gardner

Priscilla,
Arlyn sent me this link. What a brilliant tribute to an extraordinary artist: move over Twombly and Rosenquist–Riva is here. I look forward to reading your complete memoir and to meeting you later this month.
Nancy Bachrach

Comment by Nancy Bachrach

Riva has taken Virginia Woolf’s fight for a “Room of Her Own” to a new level. And you Priscilla have created a transcendent experience through your beautiful tribute. Navigating the web-site is pure joy…. xxxo…Monica

Comment by monica

Priscilla,
Profound, personal, poignant, patchwork.
What a beautiful way to honor your mom’s work and life.
I am sure it was cathartic for you to do this.

Comment by Maria Cankurtaran

“AWESOME” A great tribute to your mother and you! Can’t wait for the book, show and documentary!

Comment by Jules Bernstein

This is simply so impressive ~ what a tribute to a very fascinating woman.

Is your book under contract (I had to ask?). Jean Griffin xoxo

Comment by jean griffin

Priscilla; What beautiful work you have BOTH done here. You have given your mother exactly what she wants… viewers. As a woman who loves paper, cutting & collage, I have great respect for your mother’s life work. As for you… amazing. Also, I love her fish. xSusan

Comment by susan

Priscilla,
Your mother’s art is so undeniably rich and complex that the computer screen can never be large enough to get its full effect. What a gift you are giving and a legacy you are leaving of her tumultuous life and work. I’m in awe.

Comment by Caren

Priscilla,
This is extraordinary. I loved expoloring Riva’s work and of course, I love you.
xox Peggy

Comment by peggy warner

It’s amazing how well Riva’s work translates to the small screen — in so many ways, she was ahead of her time.

Comment by Tina

Breathtaking! As you would say,a piece of heaven here on earth!
What a tribute!
Ranyaxo

Comment by ranya

Riva,
Your artwork is awesome and inspiring. Thank you so much for sharing yourself on this web site.
you are in my prayers.
Kathleen

Comment by Kathleen LeBlanc

This is such powerful and inventive work. Your mother is a true original; thank you for sharing her.

Comment by Paul Leo

Riva – You have produced and nurtured a beautiful daughter. We met when she spoke in Boise, Idaho. Your life and artistry are fascinating to read about. She’s made a wonderful tribute to you.

Comment by Virginia Ahrens

What a remarkable tribute to your mother! It’s beautiful, inspiring, honest and, yes, painful. This “homage” is not just to Riva, but to the complexity of human relationships, art and the mystery of life. Not surprisingly, you’ve created something wonderful.

Comment by Suzanne

I read the More Magazine piece and was so intrigued I had to visit the site. Wonderful! Thank you for sharing your Mother.

Comment by Laurie

I think Riva would be proud to know that….finally! I’ve been asked to teach…the White Line Woodblock Provincetown Print at the Providence Art Club’s new print studio facility.
The gallery that represents me in Ptown was just named one of the top tier galleries in the region! …along this long road, I always felt Riva’s quiet advice guiding me.

Comment by Brian Larkin

Oh Brian, that’ wonderful! Congratulations! I will tell Riva. I am so touched that you feel her “quiet advice.” I look forward to meeting you and seeing your work as well. I think Riva might say “Carry on!”

Comment by Priscilla

Your mother is a brilliant and hasn’t gone unseen nor unrecognized. I met her at a printing class at WAM when I lived in Worcester. When I moved to Providence I found her again and it was a joy being near her. She and I found much common ground and she became a spiritual grandmother for me in terms of opening up her life and giving me insight into my own, but also creatively. I photographed one of her shows at Providence College. It was a blessing that I got to know her.

Comment by Phyllis




Leave a comment